Austria Austria Austria


The Austrian section of EuroVelo 7 – 553 km in total – offers stunning scenery cycling along alpine rivers, through beautiful towns like Linz and Salzburg and taking in some of Europe’s largest nature reserves. It crosses the Czech border at Rybnik, and follows the Grenzland cycle route (R 5) then Gusental cycle route (R28) on minor roads in the province of Upper Austria. From St. Georgen, you can follow the Danube cycle route (R1) through the town of Linz, past the famous river bends of the “Schlögener Loop” (pictured) until you reach Passau, Germany. You can then follow the Inn cycle route (R3) along the Austrian-German border, through the nature reserves of the Inn valley, all the way to Salzburg (pictured). From Salzburg EuroVelo 7 follows the Alpe-Adria Trail, which makes use of new railway tunnels to cross the Alps without difficult clmbs. Short sections following the Glockner (R8) until "Möllbrücke " and Drau (R1) cycle routes through the province of Carinthia lead you to the border crossing with Italy near the town of Sillian. So far the EV7 in Austria is signposted as "EuroVelo7" only in the province of Salzburg.
  • Certified EuroVelo Route
  • Developed route with EuroVelo signs
  • Developed route
  • Route under development
  • Route at the planning stage
National information